Discover Derry and Northern Ireland
  • Free Derry Corner

    "You are now entering Free Derry".
    Free Derry was a self-proclaimed autonomous area between 1969 and 1972. The slogan was first 1969 painted by John Casey. Free Derry Corner is located at the intersection Lecky Road and Fahan Street.

    Read More
  • „The Petrol Bomber“

    One of the largest and the first mural of the "Bogside Artists" is certainly that its black-and-white "The Petrol Bomber".

    It was 1994 completed and shows a boy wearing a gas mask, of a Molotov cocktail in his hands holds.

    Read More
  • Che Guevara-Lynch

    In Remembering an Che Guevara.

    It is perhaps outside Ireland and Cuba as well known ncht, but his father Ernesto Rafael Guevara Lynch was Basque and Irish ancestors. "In my son's veins flowed the blood of Irish Rebels!"

    Read More
  • Bogside

    The Bogside (Irish: Taobh an Bhogaigh)was the scene of "Troubles", the "Battle of the Bogside" and the "Bloody Sunday" during the Northern Ireland conflict. You can reference to the many murals look at the history of the area during the Northern Ireland conflict.

    Read More
  • Free Derry Corner

    "You are now entering Free Derry".
    Free Derry was a self-proclaimed autonomous area between 1969 and 1972. The slogan was first 1969 painted by John Casey. Free Derry Corner is located at the intersection Lecky Road and Fahan Street.

    Read More

Derry and Northern Ireland nowadays.

Derry (Irish: Doire or Doire Cholm Cille, Oak grove of Colm Cille, or St. Columcille), often also the "Maiden City" or "Walled City" called, is the second largest city in Northern Ireland and was the scene of "Troubles" and the tragic “Bloody Sunday” 1972. Ich hatte die Gelegenheit in dieser geschichtsträchtigen Stadt zu leben und viele Erfahrungen und Eindrücke zu sammeln.Wenn in den Medien über Nordirland berichtet wird, then usually only superficially, unilaterally or poorly researched (my experiences). Few people know, what actually really happened during the Northern Ireland conflict and how the political situation today looks. Northern Ireland today is not "troubled province" more, but a secure and extremely attractive destination. Therefore, this Website and the blog about my life in Derry.
"In my memory I will always see the town that I have loved so well."
-Phil Coulter, Northern Irish songwriter

 

 

Sung by Claddagh

      The town

Entering Free Derry

When I start the 80 for the first time "Sunday Bloody Sunday" by U2 heard, I would have (of course) not dream of thought, I almost 30 Jahre später die Gelegenheit bekommen würde in Derry zu leben, zu arbeiten und eine Woche nach meiner Ankunft am letzten „Bloody Sunday march“ teilnehmen zu können. Auf diesen Marsch werde ich noch weiter...

Read more

A few words about Derry

Moira's father once said to me:“Derry is not everyone's cup of tea“, says something like "Derry is not for everyone". I can tell anyway, that this city has me excited, I felt very comfortable and very many interesting people from all over the world have come to know. Derry is the second largest city in Northern Ireland ...

Read more

Derry's famous Murals

The real attractions of the recent history of Derry's Bogside district are located in the city. There can be the basis of the many Murals (political murals) the history of this area during the Northern Ireland conflict consider. Perhaps the best known is certainly the most decorated in black and white, "The Petrol Bomber".

Read more

Antrim Coast and Donegal

But even outside of Derry, you can do a lot. The landscape at the "Antrim Coast" is not only because of the "Dunluce Castle" and the dramatic cliffs an experience.

Read more

Host family and internship

I was accepted from the beginning as a "full" member of the family and everyone was trying to make me the acclimatization as easy as possible.

Read more

Derry City Football Club

Derry City played earlier in the Northern Ireland "Irish Football League" and today is the only Northern Irish football club is in the Premier League of Ireland.

Read more

Entdecke Derry und Nordirland
  • Free Derry Corner

    "You are now entering Free Derry".
    Free Derry war ein selbsternanntes autonomes Areal zwischen 1969 und 1972. Der Slogan wurde erstmals 1969 von John Casey aufgemalt. Free Derry Corner liegt an der Kreuzung Lecky Road und Fahan Street.

    Read More
  • „The Petrol Bomber“

    Eines der bekanntesten und das erste Mural der „Bogside Artists“ ist sicherlich dass in schwarz-weiß gehaltene „The Petrol Bomber“.

    Es wurde 1994 fertiggestellt und zeigt einen Jungen mit Gasmaske, der einen Molotow-Cocktail in den Händen hält.

    Read More
  • Che Guevara-Lynch

    In Gedenken an Che Guevara.

    Es ist vielleicht ausserhalb Irlands und Kubas ncht so bekannt, aber sein Vater Ernesto Rafael Guevara Lynch hatte baskische und irische Vorfahren. "In my son's veins flowed the blood of Irish Rebels!"

    Read More
  • Bogside

    Die Bogside (Irisch: Taobh an Bhogaigh)war Schauplatz der "Troubles", der "Battle of the Bogside" und des "Bloody Sunday" während des Nordirlandkonfliktes. Man kann anhand der vielen Murals die Geschichte des Viertels während des Nordirlandkonflikts betrachten.

    Read More
  • Free Derry Corner

    "You are now entering Free Derry".
    Free Derry war ein selbsternanntes autonomes Areal zwischen 1969 und 1972. Der Slogan wurde erstmals 1969 von John Casey aufgemalt. Free Derry Corner liegt an der Kreuzung Lecky Road und Fahan Street.

    Read More

Derry und Nordirland heutzutage...

Derry (Irisch: Doire oder Doire Cholm Cille, Eichenhain von Colm Cille, oder des heiligen Columcille), oft auch the "Maiden City" oder "Walled City" genannt, ist die zweitgrößte Stadt Nordirlands und war Schauplatz der "Troubles" und des tragischen “Bloody Sunday” 1972. Ich hatte die Gelegenheit drei Monate in dieser geschichtsträchtigen Stadt zu leben und viele Erfahrungen und Eindrücke zu sammeln.Wenn in den Medien über Nordirland berichtet wird, dann meist nur sehr oberflächlich, einseitig oder schlecht recherchiert (meine Erfahrungen). Wenige Leute wissen, was eigentlich wirklich während des Nordirlandkonflikts passiert ist und wie die politische Lage heute aussieht. Nordirland ist heutzutage keine "Unruheprovinz" mehr, sondern ein sicheres und äußerst attraktives Reiseziel. Deshalb diese Webseite und der Blog über mein Leben in Derry.
"In my memory I will always see the town that I have loved so well."
-Phil Coulter, nordirischer Songwriter

 

 

Hier gesungen von Claddagh

 

Entering Free Derry

Als ich Anfang der 80iger zum ersten Mal „Sunday Bloody Sunday“ von U2 hörte, hätte ich (natürlich) nicht im Traum daran gedacht, dass ich fast 30 Jahre später die Gelegenheit bekommen würde in Derry zu leben, zu arbeiten und eine Woche nach meiner Ankunft am letzten „Bloody Sunday march“ teilnehmen zu können. Auf diesen Marsch werde ich noch weiter...

Weiterlesen

Ein paar Worte zu Derry

Moira´s Vater sagte einmal zu mir:“Derry is not everyone's cup of tea“, meint soviel wie „Derry ist nicht jedermanns Sache“. Ich kann jedenfalls sagen, dass mich diese Stadt begeistert hat, ich mich sehr wohl gefühlt habe und sehr viele interessante Menschen aus aller Welt kennen gelernt habe. Derry ist die zweitgrößte Stadt Nordirlands...

Weiterlesen

Derry's berühmte Murals

Die wirklichen Sehenswürdigkeiten der jüngeren Geschichte Derry’s befinden sich im Stadtviertel Bogside. Man kann dort anhand der vielen Murals (politischen Wandgemälde) die Geschichte des Viertels während des Nordirlandkonflikts betrachten. Eines der bekanntesten ist sicherlich das in schwarz-weiß gehaltene „The Petrol Bomber“.

Weiterlesen

Antrim Coast und Donegal

Aber auch außerhalb von Derry kann man viel unternehmen. Die Landschaft an der “Antrim Coast” ist nicht nur wegen des “Dunluce Castle” und den dramatischen Felsküsten ein Erlebnis.

Weiterlesen

Gastfamilie und Praktikum

Ich wurde von Anfang an als „vollwertiges“ Familienmitglied aufgenommen und alle waren sehr bemüht mir die Eingewöhnung so leicht wie möglich zu machen.

Weiterlesen

Derry City Football Club

Derry City spielte früher in der nordirischen "Irish Football League" und ist heute der einzige nordirische Fußballverein in der Premier League der Republik Irland.

Weiterlesen